• Interfaces

    Interfaces

    Reliable data transfer over longer distances

CameraLink

As an absolute high-end interface with the highest possible data rate, the CameraLink standard is well established in machine vision and completely replaced the LVDS interface.

CameraLink (CL) is a standard which was created by the Automated Imaging Association (AIA). The members of AIA are many renowned camera, frame grabber and software manufacturers in industrial machine vision. CL is an advancement of the Channellink protocol and was created in 2000 in the specification 1.0 especially for secure image transmission of large data quantities. The current standard is version 2.0, which was released in November 2011.

Advantages of the CameraLink interface

  • CameraLink provides the user with the highest data rate of up to 800 MB/s. High-resolution image signals of fast area scan or line scan cameras can be transmitted in this way. Almost every important supplier of high-end cameras for machine vision offers CameraLink cameras.
  • The digital image transmission is free of loss and takes place via standardised signals, cables and plugs. Compared to the LVDS interface, now all cameras and frame grabbers of all manufacturers use the same plug and socket. The plug connections are screwed or clipped and therefore industry-suited.
  • CameraLink as an industry standard reduces the costs for cameras, frame grabbers, and especially for cables due to this compatibility.
  • In addition to data conductors for the image transfer, CameraLink interfaces integrate a two-core serial interface for the configuration and control of the camera as well as another four conductors for the transmission of trigger and synchronisation signals. This external triggering allows for a very low release delay and guarantees a nearly real-time capable control of the camera.
  • In addition to the CameraLink cable, another connector for the voltage supply of the camera is required. The latest specification 1.2 of CameraLink also introduces a PowerOverCameraLink (PoCL) and a MiniCameraLink plug connector with PoCL in order that only one cable must be used. The first new cameras for MiniCameraLink were launched in 2008.

Characteristics of CameraLink

  • CameraLink is a serial high-speed point-to-point connection. A maximum of two cameras can be connected to a computer system using one frame grabber. Further cameras require the use of additional frame grabber cards.
  • The bit width per pixel can vary between 8 and 16 bits. The maximum pixel frequency of the data transfer is 85 MHz. If even more data must be transmitted, this can be done in several parallel data streams. They are called taps.

CameraLink is available in three different variations:

  • Base (maximum 24 bits per cycle) – approx. 255 MB/s using 3 taps of 8 bits each (3 bytes * 85 MHz)
  • Medium (maximum 48 bits per cycle) - approx. 510 MB/s
  • Full (maximum 64 bits per cycle) - approx. 680 MB/s using 8 taps, with special tricks even more (800 MByte/s)
  • CameraLink cameras are connected to a PC system by means of frame grabbers. These plug-in cards for the PCI bus or PCI Express bus can transfer the image data to the internal memory by using DMA channels with extremely low processor load. Therefore the image data transmission via CameraLink requires extremely little processor capacity of the system.
  • The CameraLink specification defines a standard for cables, connections, signal format and serial communication interface. Yet, as opposed to FireWire and, in the optimal case, GigE vision, the communication between camera and computer is not defined by a special standard. For correct operation a suitable config file is required which tells the frame grabber and software how the images are transferred and via which serial commands the camera is controlled.
  • Via the standardised cable connection using an MDR26 plug, not the total bandwidth of the medium or full specification can be realised. Instead of using different cables and plugs, communication is established via a second CameraLink cable and a second connection socket on camera and frame grabber (see above picture).
  • Typical cable lengths realised using CameraLink are approximately 10 metres. When using particularly high-quality cables, frame grabbers and cameras, this specification can slightly be exceed in case of lower pixel frequency. MiniCL plugs and cables provide the user with a somewhat lower performance due to the miniaturisation.
  • If even longer distances must be bridged, repeaters or, for particularly long distances of up to 500 metres, optic fibre couplers must be used.

Disadvantages of CameraLink

  • A frame grabber is required for the operation, which only provides connection possibilities for two cameras. Multi-camera systems can thus not be realised using CL.
  • CL cameras are typically more expensive, the use of a frame grabber card also incurs higher additional costs.
  • The cable lengths of 7 to 15 m are not sufficient for certain applications. Optic fibre transmission systems are very expensive.

Conclusion:
CameraLink serves as well-established high-end interface in order to transmit large data quantities of single area scan or line scan cameras to a PC. Due to the system costs, CameraLink is too expensive for the mass of (simple) standard applications. Other digital interfaces are preferentially used for this purpose.

Partner & Network

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
UKIVA
SpectroNet
Inspect
Machine Vision 4 Users

• Schnittstellen

    Schnittstellen

    Sichere Datenübertragung über längere Strecken

CameraLink

Als absolute High End-Schnittstelle mit der größtmöglichen Datenrate ist der CameraLink-Standard fest in der industriellen Bildverarbeitung etabliert und hat die LVDS-Schnittstelle komplett ersetzt.

CameraLink (CL) ist ein Standard, der von der Automated Imaging Assosiation (AIA) geschaffen wurde. Die Mitglieder der AIA sind viele renommierte Kamera, Frame Grabber und Software-Hersteller der industriellen Bildverarbeitung. CL ist eine Weiterentwicklung des Channellink-Protokolls und wurde im Jahr 2000 in der Spezifikation 1.0 speziell für die sichere Bildübertragung bei gleichzeitig großen Datenmengen geschaffen. Im November 2011 wurde die Version 2.0 veröffentlicht.

 

Vorteile der CameraLink-Schnittstelle

  • CameraLink bringt dem Anwender die höchste Datenrate mit bis zu 680MByte/s. Hochauflösende Bildsignale von schnellen Flächen- und Zeilenkameras lassen sich damit übertragen. Fast jeder großer Anbieter von HighEnd-Kameras für die industrielle Bildverarbeitung bietet Camera-Link-Kameras an.
  • Die digitale Bildübertragung bietet eine verlustfreie Signalübertragung und findet über standardisierte Signale, Kabel und Stecker ab. Gegenüber der LVDS-Schnittstelle sind nun an allen Produkten aller Hersteller von Kameras und Frame Grabbern dieselben Stecker und Buchsen in Verwendung. Die Steckverbindungen sind verschraubt oder geclipst und damit industrietauglich.
  • CameraLink als Industrie-Standard senkt aufgrund dieser Kompatibilität die Kosten für Kameras, Frame Grabber, aber besonders für Kabel.
  • Neben den Datenleitungen zur Bildübertragung sind in der CameraLink-Schnittstelle eine zweiadrige serielle Schnittstelle zur Konfiguration und Regelung der Kamera, sowie vier weitere Adern zur Übertragung von Trigger- und Synchronisationssignalen implementiert.  Diese externe Triggerung ermöglicht eine sehr geringe Auslöseverzögerung  und gewährleistet eine möglichst echtzeitfähige Steuerung der Kamera.
  • Neben des CameraLink-Kabels wird nur noch ein weiterer Stecker für die Spannungsversorgung der Kamera benötigt. In der neuesten Spezifikation 1.2 von CameraLink wird auch nun PowerOverCameraLink (PoCL) und eine MiniCameraLink-Steckverbindung mit PoCL eingeführt, so dass nur noch ein einziges Kabel verwendet werden muss. Erste, neue Kameras für Mini CameraLink wurden im Jahr 2008 eingeführt.

 

Eigenschaften von CameraLink

  • CameraLink ist eine serielle Hochgeschwindigkeits-Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verbindung. Maximal zwei Kameras lassen sich an einem Frame Grabber mit einem Rechnersystem verbinden. Weitere Kameras erfordern den Einsatz zusätzlicher Frame Grabber-Karten.
  • Die Bitbreite pro Pixel kann zwischen 8 und 16 Bit variieren.  Die maximale Pixelfrequenz der Datenleistung beträgt 85 MHz. Müssen noch mehr Daten übertragen werden, kann dies in mehreren parallelen Datenströmen erfolgen. Diese werden Taps genannt.

CameraLink gibt es in drei verschiedenen Variationen:

  • Base (maximal 24 Bit pro Takt) – ca. 255 MB/s bei 3 Taps à 8 Bit (3 Byte * 85 MHz)
  • Medium (maximal 48 Bit pro Takt) - ca. 510 MB/s
  • Full (maximal 64 Bit pro Takt) – ca. 680 MB/s bei 8 Taps
  • Camera-Link-Kameras werden mit Hilfe von Frame Grabbern an ein PC-System angeschlossen. Diese Einsteckkarten für den  PCI- oder PCI Express-Bus können durch die Verwendung von DMA-Kanälen mit extrem niedriger Prozessorlast die Bilddaten in den Arbeitsspeicher transferieren. Daher erfordert die Bilddatenübertragung mit Camera Link eine extrem geringe Prozessorleistung des Systems.
  • Die Camera-Link-Spezifikation definiert einen Standard für Kabel, Anschluss, Signalformat und serielle Kommunikationsschnittstelle. Allerdings ist im Gegensatz zu FireWire und im "Luxusfall" GigE Vision die Kommunikation zwischen Kamera und Rechner jedoch nicht durch einen speziellen Standard definiert. Für den korrekten Betrieb ist ein passendes config file nötig, das dem Frame Grabber und Software mitteilt, wie die Bildübertragung und über welche seriellen Kommandos die Regelung der Kamera erfolgt.
  • Über die standardisierte Kabelverbindung mittels eines MDR26-Steckers lässt  sich nicht die gesamte Bandbreite der Medium- und Full-Spezifikation realisieren. Statt der Verwendung anderer Stecker und Kabel wird die Kommunikation über ein zweites CameraLink-Kabel und eine zweite Anschlussbuchse an der Kamera und am Frame Grabber abgewickelt (siehe Bild rechts oben).
  • Typische Kabellängen, die mit CameraLink realisiert werden, betragen rund 10 Meter.  Bei der Verwendung besonders hochwertiger Kabel, Frame Grabber und Kameras kann diese Spezifikation bei geringerer Pixelfrequenz noch etwas überschritten werden. Mini CL-Stecker und Kabel bieten dem Anwender aufgrund der Miniaturisierung eine etwas geringere Performance.
  • Müssen noch längere Strecken überbrückt werden, können Repeater oder für besonders lange Strecken bis 500 Meter Glasfaser-Koppler eingesetzt werden.

 

Nachteile von  CameraLink

  • Für den Betrieb wird ein Frame Grabber benötigt, der nur Anschlussmöglichkeiten für zwei Kameras ermöglicht. Multikamerasysteme werden daher nicht mit CL realisierbar.
  • CL-Kameras sind typischerweise etwas hochpreisiger,  auch der Einsatz einer Frame Grabber-Karte sorgt für höhere Zusatzkosten.
  • Die Kabellängen sind mit 10 m für bestimmte Applikationen nicht ausreichend. Glasfaser-Übertragungssysteme sind sehr teuer.

 

Fazit:
CameraLink dient als etablierte High End-Schnittstelle, um hohe Datenmengen einzelner Flächen- wie Zeilen-Kameras an einen PC zu übertragen. Aufgrund der Systemkosten ist CameraLink für die Masse der (einfachen) Standard-Applikationen zu teuer. Hier werden gerne andere digitale Schnittstellen, wie USB3 Vision oder GigE Vision verwendet.

 

Partner & Netzwerk

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
inVision
SpectroNet
Inspect