• Interfaces

    Interfaces

    Reliable data transfer over longer distances

Gigabit Ethernet & GigE Vision

In the course of the last years, new standards have been introduced again and again to the classic analogue camera interface, which, however, make the programming and integration of the camera technology difficult for the user due to individual proprietary solutions of the respective manufacturers.

The last, current development on the industrial machine vision market is the GigE vision standard. It defines the hardware standard in the form of the widely used Gigabit Ethernet interface as well as the software standard for the communication protocol. The so-called GenICam interface (generic programming interface for all kinds of cameras) allows for a cross-manufacturer standard and access to the functionalities of the devices and is part of the GigE vision standard. Proprietary special solutions are avoided.

Advantages of GigE Vision

  • Employed are widely used hardware technologies (controller chips, network cards, switches, plugs, cables) which must not be developed separately. Special hardware, such as frame grabber cards, is no longer required.
  • The technology comes from the communication mass market (company LAN, internet), is cheap and sophisticated. The consequence is a reduction of the system costs.
  • A high, stable data throughput is guaranteed by means of a transfer rate of approx. 100 MB/s. In this way, also more complex multi-camera solutions can be operated as well as higher-resolution fast industrial cameras without problems.
  • Even greater cable lengths of up to 100 m are possible on copper-cable basis. Any other digital interface like USB, FireWire and CameraLink is clearly limited in this regard and only achieves lengths between 5 and 10 m without tricks. This is often too short in an industrial environment.
  • The new software standard GenICam simplifies the ease of operation, programming and support by way of standardisation.
  • A large hardware selection which can be used by the employed software makes it easier to solve tasks.
  • A better long-time availability thanks to replaceable hardware also across different manufacturers facilitates the stock keeping of spare parts and the system maintenance.

Conclusion:
State-of-the-art camera families on the basis of Gigabit Ethernet / GigE vision-compatible cameras are available today which cover almost all fields of application from 0.3 to 12 (or even up to 29) megapixels, monochrome or colour, CCD or CMOS. Thanks to the GenICam standard, good cameras of different manufacturers are almost 100% plug&play in order that proprietary drivers and hardware must no longer be used. Cable lengths of up to 100 m are ideal for industrial applications. The bandwidth of 90 - 100 MB/s is even sufficient for many line scan camera applications.

Partner & Network

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
UKIVA
SpectroNet
Inspect
Machine Vision 4 Users

• Schnittstellen

    Schnittstellen

    Sichere Datenübertragung über längere Strecken

Gigabit Ethernet & GigE Vision

Im Laufe der letzten Jahre wurden zur klassischen analogen Kameraschnittstelle immer wieder neue Standards eingeführt, die jedoch bedingt durch proprietäre Einzellösungen der jeweiligen Hersteller die Programmierung und Integration der Kameratechnologie für den Anwender schwierig machten.

Die letzte aktuelle Entwicklung im industriellen Bildverarbeitungsmarkt ist der GigE Vision-Standard. Dieser definiert den Hardware-Standard in Form der weit verbreiteten Gigabit-Ethernetschnittstelle, sowie den Software-Standard für das Kommunikationsprotokoll. Das so genannte GenICam-Interface (generic programming interface for all kinds of cameras) ermöglicht einen Hersteller übergreifenden Standard und Zugriff auf die Funktionalitäten der Geräte und ist Teil des GigE Vision Standards. Proprietäre Sonderlösungen werden vermieden.

 

Vorteile von GigE Vision

  • Zum Einsatz kommen weit verbreitete Hardware-Technologien (Controllerchips, Netzwerkkarten, Switche, Stecker, Kabel), die nicht extra entwickelt werden müssen. Keine spezielle Hardware wie Frame Grabber-Karten ist mehr nötig.
  • Die Technologie stammt aus dem Kommunikations-Massenmarkt (Firmen-LAN, Internet), ist preiswert und ausgereift. Die Folge ist eine Verringerung der Systemkosten.
  • Mit ca. 100 MByte/s Transferrate  wird ein hoher, stabiler Datendurchsatz garantiert. Dadurch können auch komplexere Multikameralösungen betrieben sowie höher auflösende, schnelle industrielle Kameras ohne Probleme eingesetzt werden.
  • Auch größere Kabellängen von bis zu 100m auf Kupferkabel-Basis sind möglich. Alle anderen digitalen Schnittstellen, wie USB, FireWire und CameraLink sind hier deutlich limitiert und erreichen ohne Tricks nur Längen zwischen 5 bis 10m. Im industriellen Umfeld ist dies oft zu kurz.
  • Der neue Software-Standard GenICam erleichtert durch Vereinheitlichung die Bedienungsfreundlichkeit, Programmierung und Support.
  • Eine große Hardware-Auswahl, die von der benutzten Software verwendet werden kann erleichtert das Lösen der Ausgabenstellung.
  • Eine bessere Langzeitverfügbarkeit im Servicefall durch austauschbare Hardware auch über Herstellerfirmen hinweg vereinfacht Ersatzteilhaltung und Systempflege.

 

Fazit:
Heute sind moderne Kamera-Familien auf Basis von Gigabit Ethernet/ GigE Vision-kompatiblen Kameras erhältlich, die fast alle Anwendungsgebiete von 0,3 bis 12 (oder sogar bis 29) Megapixel, monochrom oder Farbe, CCD oder CMOS abdecken können. Dank GenICam-Standard sind gute Kameras verschiedener Hersteller untereinander nahezu 100% Plug & Play, so dass nicht auf proprietäre Treiber und Hardware gesetzt werden muss. Kabellängen von bis zu 100m sind ideal für industrielle Applikationen. Die Bandbreite von 90-100 MByte/s reicht sogar für viele Zeilenkamera-Applikationen.

Partner & Netzwerk

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
inVision
SpectroNet
Inspect