• Optical filters

    Optical filters

    See the essential - suppress interference

Light control film

The requirements for transmitted light illumination are a homogeneously illuminated image and at the same time light aligned as parallel as possible.

As an LED background light is only loosely equipped with LEDs or a fluorescent background light only with a few tubes, the light must be spread softly over the whole area by means of diffusors. Now the homogeneity of light over the surface is granted, but the object edges can be illuminated at angles by stray light. The consequence is partial shade (soft grey transitions) between bright illumination and the silhouette of the object. The result is a measuring inaccuracy: the lower the contrast, the worse the measuring result or finding the object (however, please do not overexpose for "maximum" contrast!).

Remedy by means of light control film

  • Due to microstructures in transparent filter glass, stray light is blocked, the effect on the image is similar to telecentric background lighting (there, however, the light is optically aligned by 100%).
  • No blurring of grey shade information over several pixels. Interfering reflexes and reflections are suppressed, partial shade is avoided.
  • The consequence is a better contrast on the edges, particularly in case of glossy, cylindrical objects.
Normal backlight

Normal backlight

Even with backlight no sharp silhouette is generated at round shiny object contours. Lateral scattered light generated penumbra at object edges.
With light control film

With light control film

Disturbing stray light is blocked. Object contours with high contrast. However filter reduces light intensity up to 50 percent. Please compensate!

Functional principle of light control films

Funktionsweise Light Control Film

The effect of the filter can be demonstrated by taking the transmitted lights at angles. As mainly vertical rays are passed through the filter, no light can reach the camera at angles: the filter appears almost black:

Effect of light control film

Important for machine vision

  • In case of especially small imaging areas it is beneficial to place the lighting in the unsharpness range, as "micro-cracks" would otherwise be visible in the filter material. A distance of several centimetres between lighting and test object solves this problem.
  • The micro-structures in the filter are aligned in only one direction. For optimal results align the longitudinal edge of the component parallel to the filter structures. The stray light blocking is much lower in the other direction.
  • As the stray light does not contribute to the illumination, the image will be approximately 30 - 40 per cent darker. This must be compensated by longer exposure times, a different aperture position or brighter illumination.
  • If the object must have a perfect silhouette in transmitted light in any direction, only telecentric background lighting can be used. It does not filter the stray light, but perfectly aligns it (collimation).

Partner & Network

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
UKIVA
SpectroNet
Inspect
Machine Vision 4 Users

• Optische Filter

    Optische Filter

    Das Wesentliche sehen - Störeinflüsse ausblenden

Light Control Film

Die Wunschvorstellungen an eine Durchlichtbeleuchtung ist ein homogen ausgeleuchtetes Bild bei gleichzeitig möglichst parallel gerichtetem Licht.

Da ein LED-Hintergrundlicht recht lose mit LEDs oder ein Fluoreszenz-Durchlicht  nur mit einigen Röhren bestückt ist, muss das Licht mit Hilfe von Diffusoren weich über die gesamte Fläche gestreut werden. Jetzt ist zwar die Homogenität über die Fläche gegeben, jedoch werden die Objektkanten auch leicht schräg durch Streulicht angestrahlt. Die Folge sind Halbschatten (weiche Grautonübergänge) zwischen heller Beleuchtung und Schattenriss des Objekts. Daraus resultieren Messungenauigkeiten: Je geringer der Kontrast, desto schlechter die Mess-Ergebnisse oder die Objektfindung (bitte aber nicht überbelichten für "maximalen" Kontrast!).

 

Abhilfe durch Light Control Film: Blockieren von Streulicht

  • Durch Mikrostrukturen in transparenter Filterscheibe wird Streulicht geblockt, das Bild ähnelt im Effekt einer telezentrischen Hintergrundbeleuchtung (dort wird Licht allerdings optisch zu 100% ausgerichtet.
  • Kein Verwischen der Grauton-Information über mehrere Pixel. Störreflexe und Spiegelungen werden unterdrückt, Halbschatten vermieden.
  • Die Folge ist eine Erhöhung des Kontrasts an den Kanten vor allem bei glänzenden, zylindrischen Objekten.
Aufnahme ohne Filter

Aufnahme ohne Filter

An runden glänzenden Objekten wird selbst im Durchlicht kein scharfer Schattenriss sichtbar. Seitliches Streulicht erzeugt Halbschatten an Objektkanten.
Durchlicht mit Filter

Durchlicht mit Filter

Störendes Streulicht wird blockiert. Objektkonturen sind zum hellen Hintergrund scharf abgegrenzt (Hell-Dunkelübergang ohne große Grausäume). Filter reduziert allerdings etwas das Licht. Bitte kompensieren!

 

Funktionsprinzip des Light Control Films

 

Funktionsweise Light Control Film

 

Die Wirkung des Filters lässt sich gut zeigen bei schräger Aufnahme des Durchlichts. Da nur vorwiegend senkrechte Lichtstrahlen durch den Filter durchgelassen werden, kann kein Licht zur schrägen Aufnahme-Position der Kamera gelangen: Der Filter erscheint beinahe schwarz:

Wirkung Light Control Fillm

 

Wichtig für die Bildverarbeitung

  • Bei besonders kleinen Bildaufnahmebereichen ist es vorteilhaft, die Beleuchtung im Unschärfebereich zu platzieren, da sonst "Mikrorisse" im Filtermaterial sichtbar werden. Einige Zentimeter Abstand zwischen Beleuchtung und Prüfkörper lösen dieses Problem.
  • Die Ausrichtung der Mikrostrukturen im Filter verläuft nur in eine Richtung. Für optimale Ergebnisse richten Sie bitte die Längskanten des Bauteils parallel zu den Filterstrukturen aus. Die Streulicht-Blockung ist in die andere Raumrichtung deutlich geringer.
  • Da das Streulicht nicht mehr zur Belichtung beiträgt, ist das Bild etwa 30-40 Prozent dunkler. Dies muss durch längere Belichtungszeit, Blendenstellung oder Beleuchtungsregelung kompensiert werden.
  • Muss das Objekt in alle Raumrichtungen perfekte Schattenrisse im Durchlicht ausweisen, hilft nur eine telezentrische Hintergrundbeleuchtung. Dies filtert nicht das Streulicht, sondern richtet es perfekt optisch aus (Kollimation).

Partner & Netzwerk

European Imaging Academy
Machine Vision
inVision
SpectroNet
Inspect